It’s been 2 months since I’ve posted a blog, I could say that I’ve been busy, which would be partially true. Between my wife and kids being back at school, Toastmasters, Parent & Toddler Group and looking to go back to work I have been busier. However not so busy that I couldn’t have written something. I did write more in my journal with the intention of transcribing them into blogs, and I might again as this was an attempt to improve the quality of my writing by putting it down on paper first.

The biggest reason why I haven’t written however is one that all of us can be guilty of at times, the lure of the TV and general tiredness causing me to get out of the habit of writing. I never could keep a diary as a child for more than a few days before I would forget about it and stop for a while before trying again.

But it is good to take a break and focus on other things for awhile. I’ve spent loads of time with the kids, made big improvements with how I look after them, slightly less shouting, a lot more patience and understanding. I’ve been reducing Tomás sleep time during the day to ensure that he sleeps at night and spending quality time with him, encouraging him to speak, play and make animal noises. And he’s been making great progress.

The weather has been unquestionably great (for Ireland) and after collecting Aidan from school we hang around to collect his big sister an hour later. We’ve used this time to get some of his homework done and to allow the 2 boys and some other kids who are around for the senior school pick up to play together.

But now after this sabbatical from writing it’s time to get back to work. I’ve spent the last 2 months getting everyone adjusted to the new regime of school and playgroups, homework and job hunting, now it’s time to get back to the other things that I have to do, writing, developing my own skills and capabilities.